A little chicken experiment…

Well, Peep has now laid 6 eggs in 7 days.  Pretty good starting record I think!  She laid for 3 days in a row, skipped a day, and then for another 3 days in a row.  The interesting thing is that on day 1 Peep laid her first egg in the left nesting box which had the fake wooden egg in it. I then took the fake egg out since I figured she now knew where to lay her eggs, the next morning I found her egg on the ground in front of the nesting boxes. I decided to put the fake egg back into the nesting box on the left and she has now laid 3 more eggs in the left box. Last night I put the fake egg into the nesting box on the right and this morning I found her egg in the right nesting box next to the fake egg.  So…tonight I put a fake egg into both nesting boxes and I am really curious to see where she decides to lay her next egg.

Peep's blue egg next to the fake wooden egg.

Peep's eggs for the first 6 days.

From the photo you can see that Peep’s eggs gradually increase in size until day 6, which really increases in size.  The egg I got this morning from Peep is about the size of egg #3.  (A little strange, don’t you think?)  Whether we get an egg tomorrow or not, we have decided to cook our first six eggs tomorrow morning in a little celebratory breakfast.  (At least we will if the eggs look normal when we crack them open.)  It definitely feels a little weird to think we will be eating eggs from our very own chickens.

Betsy checking out the nesting boxes.

Sadie checking out the nesting boxes.

Both Sadie and Betsy keep going up into the nesting boxes and looking around for a while before leaving the boxes, but no egg.  I like to think that they are at least contemplating putting their first egg into the boxes. Frannie, the oldest chicken by a couple of weeks, still shows no interest in the nesting boxes so far.

Sun and dirt bathing in the new bath house!

The girls are really liking the new bath house we built them.   I poured in several bowls of dirt mixed with some sand and DE into the shelter and the girls went nuts kicking up dirt onto themselves.  It is so funny to watch them squirming and rolling around in the dirt.  You can even see the dirt flying in the air in the above picture.

Peep sitting on my shoulder.

Aren't I just too cute?!

Cluck, cluck y’all!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teamzuhl
    Oct 23, 2011 @ 12:26:23

    Just found your blog – Love it! Thank you for sharing! I’m just in the starting stages of beginning a coop and eventually a small flock, and your blog is just the sort of resource I’ve been looking for!

    Reply

    • chrisyp
      Oct 23, 2011 @ 12:51:59

      Thanks for visiting and commenting. I am so excited for you! Chickens are so much fun, and a wonderful learning experience. I love my girls and can’t imagine being without them. If you have any questions, just ask!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

