And the winner is…

Congrats to Laurel for winning the “Chicken Bawk” necklace!  (She was the randomly picked winner thanks to my son picking her name out of a hat.  Please email me your address Laurel.)

Here’s a question…

Does anyone else find that chickens have their own little quirks when it comes to foods they like to eat?  I try different foods on them according to lists of acceptable things to feed chickens and also what I hear other chicken owners say their chickens like.  But I am finding that it is pretty hit and miss on what they will turn their beaks up at.  I found out yesterday that they love kale and mustard greens, but not alfalfa sprouts.  Everyone has been saying how their chickens like watermelons, but not mine.  No sir…they turn their beaks up at watermelon, blueberries, raspberries, and strawberries.  Maybe my girls are just not that into fruit, which might explain why they don’t care much for tomatoes.  Are my chickens just weird?!  They do love corn more than anything.  I have heard many others say that they scramble eggs for their chickens and that the protein is also good for them, but do my girls like scrambled eggs? Not much!  Do your chickens have any food favorites or eccentricities?  I would love to hear what strange things other chickens like to eat.

We are starting to think about winter-izing the chicken run.  The girls have an indoor winter home in the garage that they have access to all day, but when they want to be outside in the run they have no retreat from cold winds and wet weather.   We are considering our options on this newest task.  Should we cover part of the run in plastic or tarps?  Should we build a little three walled shelter to block the wind with a roof to keep off rain and snow?  Should we get plexi-glass to wall in part of the run?  So many options, but trying to decide which is best cosmetically and financially is the trick.  The first thing needed is to get an electric heater for their water bowl since the temps will be in the low 30’s in the next few days.  My husband is beginning to think that it will never end…and I guess my girls are quite spoiled!

Talk about spoiled, here are some pics from this morning that epitomizes spoiled…

Betsy loves to snuggle.

Snuggling in for a nap!

Cluck, cluck y’all!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

