Happiness is…Chickens!

I love Shutterfly!  I have used the Shutterfly website to create many photo books for my family.  Of course you knew it would have to happen…yes…you guessed…I made a new photo book of my lovely girls!  It is titled “Happiness is…Chickens!”  Here is a link to my Shutterfly share page.  Hope you like it!

http://youngpour.shutterfly.com/

Sadie at 17 weeks old.

Betsy at 17 weeks.

Frannie at 19 weeks.

Peep at 14 weeks old.

Peep is only about 14 or 15 weeks old at this point, but the other 3 girls are at that age when they could start laying eggs at any time.  I anxiously check the nesting box every morning, but the only thing I have found each morning so far is the fake wooden egg that I put in there to show them where to lay their eggs.  Many chicken keepers are aware of the fact that a fake egg, small ball, or even a golf ball put in a nesting box encourages chickens to lay in the box.  I keep thinking my girls will take a hint and produce one of their own.

fake egg

Check out this chicken decor that I painted.  (Actually, re-painted.)  It was a great (cheap) find at a Goodwill Store that was painted atrociously with dings here and there.  It is heavy plaster and only cost me 50 cents.  After painting it, I gave it a wash of light taupe and then sealed it with a glossy varnish.  Isn’t she just too cute?!

Cluck, cluck y'all!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Eleanore Wosick
    Sep 23, 2011 @ 17:13:49

    Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it is really informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels. I will be grateful if you continue this in future. Numerous people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

