Strange chicken moment.

Did some decorating on the chicken coop today.  Made a sign to put on the coop and decorated an old industrial drum to store chicken feed.  Check out the cute pics…

I borrowed the words on the sign but used my own design.

 

I had quite a surprise last night while my husband and I were sitting out in the yard talking and watching chicken TV.  All of a sudden all four chickens jumped up on me (one on each knee and one on each shoulder) almost in unison, and settled down for a sit.  Each of them were making little cooing kinds of sounds like they were talking to me.  All at one time!  I thought maybe they were trying to tell me something, you know…like “Hurry, Jimmy’s fallen in the well!” or something similar.  After a few minutes, they all jumped down and went back to foraging in the grass.  It was very strange, almost like an X File moment!  I sat out there again today before they turned in for the evening hoping for something strange and wondrous to happen again, but I was disappointed. (…Fade out to Twilight Zone music.)

I guess it’s the same with chickens…the grass is always greener on the other side!

The girls staring into the neighbors yard.

Our neighbor on one side of us has the biggest flower garden I have ever seen. Not to mention lots of vegetables growing too.  She has the greenest thumb ever and her yard looks like a beautiful fairy garden.  I catch the girls often standing at the fence gazing like zombies into her yard.  My neighbor always tells me that if the girls want to come over and eat some of her bugs in her garden then that is fine with her.  But I know deep in my heart that if they ever did get over there, I would never see them again because they would never come back.  So for now they content themselves with wistful gazes and occasional cucumber leaves that she tosses them. Which is another mystery to me…they LOVE cucumber leaves.  You know…those hairy, scratchy, yucky feeling big cucumber leaves?!!  I can’t stand to touch them let alone watch huge pieces of those prickly leaves being sucked down the chickens throats like it’s their last meal!

Well, that’s all for now.

Cluck, cluck y’all!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. L
    Aug 10, 2011 @ 05:47:31

    “Team Quiche”. Love it

    Reply

  2. chrisyp
    Aug 10, 2011 @ 15:27:54

    I liked it when I saw it too! I am so looking forward to making some quiche when the girls start laying. I LOVE quiche!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

