Happy days are here again!

I am so happy to be able to say that the girls are now integrated together.  It was rough at first and I worried about it (probably unnecessarily), but I was starting to think that it would never happen.  Frannie and Sadie pecked on Peep every chance they got.  Peep learned very fast that she could stay close to me and not get picked on.  Her only ally, Betsy, even came to her rescue a few times before I could get to them.  Several nights ago, I went to check on the girls close to 11pm, and scared the poop out of a large animal slinking close to the coop and the separate cage.  Of course, scared the poop out of me too as it made a loud squeal and ran across my path!  It was so fast I couldn’t tell what it was, but I have a suspicion that it was a stray cat that one of my neighbors told me they saw hanging around.  (My neighbor loves my chickens also and is always worried about them!)  I was so worried about the two chickens in the cage being frightened to death, that I immediately put them into the big coop with the other chickens.  I had a hard time sleeping that night and got up at 5am to make sure that the older girls didn’t hurt the new girl.  That seemed to be the final trick to integrate them.  They woke up all together and pretty much accepted each other.

The girls enjoying some chilled cucumber.

The weather has been unbearably hot these last two weeks.  Temps of 98 – 100 degrees every day with a heat index upwards to 114.  It especially takes its toll on the chickens.  I have had a large fan blowing continually day and night on the chicken coop, sometimes placing large frozen milk cartons of water in front of the fan in order to blow some cooler air.  The water containers are being changed 3 – 4 times a day with fresh ice blocks in them.  Several times a day I have been taking the chickens chilled snacks to help cool them off inside.  (ie. chilled cucumber, lavender mint tea, watermelon, etc.)

My son, Danny, feeding the girls some banana.

The girls seem more interested in the coffee in Randy's mug than in the piece of clover he is offering them.

I even made a little chicken swimming pool out of a shallow tub and put a chunk of ice in it.  Of course, it only has a couple inches of water in it, just enough to cover their feet.  They seem to like standing in water.

Frannie walking in one of the many water bowls.

Two birds on the shoulder is worth one on the feet……(or something like that!)

Frannie on my feet.

Cluck, cluck y’all!

Leave a Reply

