A Gertie or a Henry?!

Oh dear…I am beginning to think that my Gertie may be a Henry!  My one and only Ameracauna, that I have become so attached to is making me suspicious.  Granted, she has not crowed yet, and she is only about 8 or 9 weeks old (as far as I know), but I have been reading some disturbing signs on the internet.  I read that the tail feathers are different lengths on a male and that their combs get redder faster. Also, that they seem to grow faster.  So…are there any chicken experts out there that might know by the following photos if my suspicions are true?!

Gertie, my Ameracauna.

Gertie following behind Sadie, my Black Star.

I really hope that Gertie is really a Gertie because I am very fond of her.  If she is a he, then he will have to go back to the farm as I cannot keep a rooster.  That means I will have to get an Ameracauna pullet, but I would feel so bad splitting up the girls.

Any ideas out there?

Cluck, cluck y’all!

Leave a Reply

