Hello all chicken fans!

 

Meet my girls!

My first blog post…How Intimidating!  Gee, where to start?

I have fallen in love with my four girls that are about 2 months old now.  Yes, I have caught the chicken bug and I am having a great time.  I started out by doing tons of research on the internet and reading all kinds of books about chickens.  It is so amusing to think that I have become almost a walking encyclopedia of chicken facts in such a short time.  I picked up 3 of mygirls from a local farm when they were a few days old.  They were so adorable and fuzzy.  We are now starting our gawky teenage period.  Thank goodness they have finally feathered out because they were starting to look like like they had a funky disease.  Tufts of fuzz here and feathers poking out there.  But now they are looking quite beautiful. Frannie was added a few weeks ago when she was 6 weeks old.  So she is a little older than the other girls.

Here is a photo of the original 3 girls after they were brought home.

Gertie, Sadie, and Betsy.

It is a shame that I didn’t start this blog earlier when I first got the girls, but that means I will have a lot to catch up on.  Follow along with us on our chicken journey.  I will be posting chicken anecdotes, stories, and pictures of the girls as we go along. If you are thinking of starting your own hen party, please let me know.  I would love to hear your comments and chicken stories.  If you have any questions about our fine feathered friends, please don’t be shy to ask.  If I don’t have the info for you, then I can direct you to the person or place that has the answers.

Thanks for joining me in the hen party!

Chris (aka chicken lady)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Cheryl
    Jun 29, 2011 @ 03:39:13

    Great blog !! I love how you put it all together from the begining. Thanks for sharing and can’t wait to see more info on your girls.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

